The New Black Eastside Songbook – 8/23/18

Streetlight Guild presents “The New Black Eastside Songbook,” a six-song suite conceptualized by Columbus writer Scott Woods featuring new music composed by The Ogun Meji DuoCounterfeit MadisonKrate DiggaPaisha Thomas and Jordan Sandidge.

“The New Black Eastside Songbook” is an exploration of black life and culture in Columbus historically and now, touching on subjects ranging from local jazz legends and privilege to the police and gentrification. It interrogates the definition of Columbus culture, and what relationship such culture might have to the people who both create and partake of it. Utilizing some of Columbus’ brightest musical talent across a variety of styles and backgrounds, this work seeks to establish a bar for the marriage of political context and musical examination, adding new bricks to the foundation of whatever Columbus culture may entail.

1. Welcome to Bronzeville
2. Blight Privilege
3. Rahsaan Rollin’ In The Dirt
4. Olde Town Beast
5. Things To Do In Black Columbus
6. Bulldozing The Ave

Originally funded as a commission by the Johnstone Fund for New Music, this performance was debuted as part of the “New Music at Short North Stage” free concert series.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s